New members of Tourism Society Board elected

Saturday June 14, 2014

Tourism Society Board Moves from Strength to Strength

At the 37th Tourism Society AGM on the 11th June six new board members were elected: Kevin Kaley FTS, Tim Manson MTS, Alison Rice MTS, Carole Sherlock MTS, Barbara Thomas MTS and Deirdre Wells MTS.

Board members are elected for a period of three years. This year seven retired out of which five chose to stand again and were re-elected. These were Benjamin Carey FTS, David Curtis-Brignell FTS, Sandra Matthews-Marsh FTS, Julie Russell FTS and Charlie Thornton FTS. Robin Barker FTS and Peter Cole FTS chose not to put their names forward again but they retain an ex-officio seat on the board through their positions as chairman of Tourism Society Westcountry and Tourism Society Wales respectively.

Society chairman Sandra Matthews-Marsh FTS said: “I would like to express my special thanks to Robin Barker FTS and Peter Cole FTS for all their hard work over the last 3 years. Their knowledge and expertise has helped guide the Society towards the dynamic organisation that it is today. I am also delighted to welcome our new Board members and am looking forward very much to working with them over the coming months and years.”

The six new board members have a wealth of experience within the industry.

  • Kevin Kaley has run Tourism UK Ltd for fifteen years providing services to a range of private and public sector organisations. Prior to that he worked in Hospitality Management and held a post with Scottish Enterprise;
  • Tim Manson is Policy and Development Director at Marketing Birmingham;
  • Alison Rice is an award-winning journalist, editor and broadcaster and is currently Chair of the Family Holiday Association;
  • Carole Sherlock has over 20 years’ experience in the industry, as a practitioner and as a Tourism Lecturer at both Further and Higher education level;
  • Barbara Thomas is Customer Services Director at Southeastern and has worked in transport for 22 years;
  • Deirdre Wells OBE is former Head of Tourism at DCMS and since this year has been Chief Executive at UKinbound.